Welcome Guest ( Log In)

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> How to reduce ICS file size

ysinitsyn
post May 12 2011, 07:36 AM
Post #1


Sphere
****

Group: Channel Partners
Posts: 339
Joined: 18-March 10
From: Ekaterinburg, Russia
Member No.: 49,708



If you made a complex 3D part, then you will have a big file size. ZIP Archiver is useless in this case. How to reduce a file size?
Put your model in a cube smile.gif.

Useful, when sending ics files by email.
Attached File  example.zip ( 1.58mb ) Number of downloads: 616


PS: You can download the ICube Addin from the last post.
http://www.ironcad.com/support/community/i...indpost&p=32907

This post has been edited by ysinitsyn: Dec 21 2011, 06:54 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jonas@Solidmakarna
post May 12 2011, 07:41 AM
Post #2


I-Beam
*******

Group: Channel Partners
Posts: 1,029
Joined: 22-September 04
From: Sundsvall, Sweden
Member No.: 1,692



That was interesting! The ICS format is very compact in itself and as you say compressing it won't make much difference.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cborer
post May 12 2011, 09:07 AM
Post #3


TriBall
********

Group: Community Members
Posts: 1,677
Joined: 24-October 01
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 203



interesting!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhovatter
post May 12 2011, 09:52 AM
Post #4


Sphere
****

Group: Community Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 24-October 01
From: Suwanee Geogia
Member No.: 131



another thing to try!

After working on a large file for a while and saving ever so often the file gets large.
Once done do a "Save As" and rename it. The New File will be much smaller.

Dallas

I brought in your "original.ics" and put a cube on it and saved it and It did it.
Hard to understand why it works?



This post has been edited by dhovatter: May 12 2011, 10:15 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EricFoy
post May 13 2011, 12:47 AM
Post #5


Unregistered









If you have a large assembly with many parts, then "cubing" them all is a tall order. As a pretty good alternative, try de-selecting the options to save the facets and the b-rep data with the file. Also, you can dial down the rendering smoothness on all the parts, though that one is a bit cumbersome too.

I got some files to drop their size by half just be de-selecting the two options I mentioned.

On this same subject, I recently learned that if you set a sky-box active, then use a different background, such as the two-color option, IC continues to save the skybox images with the file, UNLESS you specifically choose the "none" option in the skybox dialog (even if you delete the file name from the dialog, you must also select "none").

Thanks, Kevin, for the help on that one.

I had inadvertently left the skybox image loaded into what I was using as my default template file, so every little file I created started out life at 38MB! Ouch.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ysinitsyn
post May 13 2011, 02:13 AM
Post #6


Sphere
****

Group: Channel Partners
Posts: 339
Joined: 18-March 10
From: Ekaterinburg, Russia
Member No.: 49,708



QUOTE(dhovatter @ May 12 2011, 08:52 AM)
Hard to understand why it works?
*


I think it working like this:
Because the cube is wrap all volume of the part, then previous geometry is "suppressed". The cube is a simple geometry, so the file size is not large. When you delete the cube the Ironcad will rebuild whole model using histori tree (like macros).
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ysinitsyn
post May 13 2011, 02:18 AM
Post #7


Sphere
****

Group: Channel Partners
Posts: 339
Joined: 18-March 10
From: Ekaterinburg, Russia
Member No.: 49,708



QUOTE(EricFoy @ May 12 2011, 11:47 PM)
If you have a large assembly with many parts, then "cubing" them all is a tall order.
*


In this case need CubingAdd-in for automatic "cubing" all parts in scene. biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EricFoy
post May 13 2011, 02:22 AM
Post #8


Unregistered









Actually, that's not a bad idea... Two simple toolbar buttons: 1) Cube all parts in selected parents. 2) De-cube all.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhovatter
post May 13 2011, 08:00 AM
Post #9


Sphere
****

Group: Community Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 24-October 01
From: Suwanee Geogia
Member No.: 131



If you are going to add a way to cube and un-cube. Why can IC not just use this tecnique automatical to save and open files. Have an option to "Save Compressed" and then when the file is opened it automatically de-compresses.
Dallas
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cborer
post May 14 2011, 03:56 AM
Post #10


TriBall
********

Group: Community Members
Posts: 1,677
Joined: 24-October 01
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 203



Yes Please!
We should put this thread in the suggestions thread!
Also about screw up and down the rendering tab.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ysinitsyn
post May 15 2011, 06:21 AM
Post #11


Sphere
****

Group: Channel Partners
Posts: 339
Joined: 18-March 10
From: Ekaterinburg, Russia
Member No.: 49,708



QUOTE(dhovatter @ May 13 2011, 07:00 AM)
If you are going to add a way to cube and un-cube. Why can IC not just use this tecnique automatical to save and open files. Have an option to "Save Compressed"  and then when the file is opened it automatically de-compresses.
Dallas
*


In some cases cubing and especially un-cubing can take long time. And, I think, broken parts (blend edges error, etc.) are very posible. Need to be careful in deciding to include this "buggy" function in Ironcad.
Addin with "As-is" philosophy has the right to life.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ysinitsyn
post Oct 14 2011, 01:13 PM
Post #12


Sphere
****

Group: Channel Partners
Posts: 339
Joined: 18-March 10
From: Ekaterinburg, Russia
Member No.: 49,708



Here you are!

ICube Addin Alpha version.
Attached File  ICubeAddin.zip ( 14.45k ) Number of downloads: 397


Two simple toolbar buttons: 1) Cube all parts in a scene. 2) De-cube all.

Installation:
1) Registration of the DLL can be accomplished by double-clicking ICubeAddin.reg file.
2) Copy ICubeAddin.dll to "Bin" folder of Ironcad (example "C:\Program Files\IronCAD\2012\bin").
3) Start the IronCAD application. Go to "Add-ins" tab. Push the button "Add-In Aplications". Check the box "ICubeAddin".
After following the steps outlined, you should see two new buttons.

Any comments and bug reports are welcome.

This post has been edited by ysinitsyn: Oct 14 2011, 01:15 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
 

All content copyright IronCAD 2000-2008 Low-Bandwidth View Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 07:06 PM